Top 10(+1) List inspired by Elizabeth Gilbert

EGilbert2

For those of you who have been reading since the inception of this blog, you will remember that Elizabeth Gilbert, the author of Eat, Pray, Love inspired me to begin writing. Her idea that spirits, or geniuses, bring us our creative talents versus our humanself possessing them. This new way of thinking gave me the freedom to simply write without worrying about where my new idea would come from. I simply needed to be open and receptive to the next genius flying through.

 

I had the pleasure of hearing Liz speak at the Coolidge Corner Theater yesterday and have a personalized copy of her latest book, The Signature of All Things.  Egilbert3

Here are 10 more things I have learned from her.

10. Moss is pretty cool shit. It’s a lot like women 😉

9. Ask yourself “What was I sent here to do?” when in doubt on what to do with your Life. Don’t confuse your purpose with the need to do it well. Simply fulfilling your reason for being on this Earth can be enough.

8. Liz despises the phrase “Follow your passion” as much as I do. Because I haven’t always(okay, really I am still figuring it out!) know what I am passionate about, I am following my curiosity. Use what you are curious about to propel you.

7. Creativity and Fear are companions. Being creative come with an element of fear because letting the mind wander into areas unknown and new can be scary. Someone once told me that “If my dreams didn’t scare me, they weren’t big enough”.

6. Embrace Fear. Don’t let it in the driver’s seat of your adventure, though. Just because it is coming along for the ride anyway, doesn’t mean it gets a say on which radio station you listen to!

5. She has fabulous taste in shoes! Is she a fellow shoe lover or is she simply buying them for the shoeboxes? Hhhmmmmmm?

4. She makes up new words like Skybrary. (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k8tEOwNTloU)

3.Finish what you are working on because there are other things waiting their turn to be created.

2. Painting a room in your house is surprising similar to writing a book.

1.Perfection is not an option. Done is good enough. (Now move on!)

1. Be Real. BE Yourself. Put yourself out there and OWN IT ALL–Flaws, Strengths, Quirks, Interests. –all that makes up the Glorious You.

( Liz, if you are reading this as you said you would-THANK YOU for the gift of clarity and my growing ability to look Fear in the eye and spit at it !  Namaste. )

 

EGilbert1

Have you listened to YOUR Genius today?

What is it telling you?

(to fully understand the reference to Genius, read What IS a genius? )

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Top 10(+1) List inspired by Elizabeth Gilbert

  1. mmfrancesca@charter.net says:

    Hi, Jen.

    Nice post. I like the part about passion versus curiosity.

    Keep it up, girl.

    🙂 Mary

Leave a comment